BERMAN Boris

Boris Berman performs regularly in more than fifty countries on the six continents. Born in Moscow, he studied at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow with the famous pianist Lev Oborin. In 1973 he left a thriving career in the Soviet Union to immigrate to Israel where he quickly established himself as one of the most sought after keyboard players. Currently, he resides in New Haven, USA.

As a world-class teacher, Boris Berman directs the piano department at the Yale School of Music and conducts master classes around the world. He was appointed honorary professor of the Shanghai Conservatory, the Royal Danish Conservatory in Copenhagen and the China Conservatory in Beijing. He is frequently invited to join the juries of various international competitions.

Grammy-nominated Mr. Berman has recorded all the solo piano works by Prokofiev and Schnittke, complete sonatas by Scriabin, Mozart, Weber, Schumann, Brahms, Franck, Chostakovich, Debussy, Stravinsky, Berio, Cage and Joplin.

Professor Berman is the author of two books, Notes from the Pianist’s Bench and Prokofiev’s Piano Sonatas. These books have been translated into several languages. He was also editor of the new critical edition of Prokofiev’s Piano Sonatas.

“Boris Berman, 71 years old, presents himself here as a first-class Brahms performer. It is striking how serene and wise his playing is. Berman has nothing left to prove, he lets the music speak for itself.” Pizzicato

http://www.borisberman.com/

BERMAN Boris

Boris Berman se produit régulièrement dans plus de cinquante pays sur les six continents. Né à Moscou, il a étudié au Conservatoire Tchaïkovski de Moscou avec le célèbre pianiste Lev Oborine. En 1973, il a quitté une carrière florissante en Union soviétique pour immigrer en Israël où il s’est rapidement établi comme l’un des claviéristes les plus recherchés. Actuellement, il réside à New Haven, USA.

Professeur d’envergure internationale, Boris Berman dirige le département de piano de la Yale School of Music et dirige des master classes dans le monde entier. Il a été nommé professeur honoraire du Conservatoire de Shanghai, du Conservatoire royal danois de Copenhague et du Conservatoire de Chine à Beijing. Il est fréquemment invité à se joindre aux jurys de divers concours internationaux.

En nomination aux Grammy Awards, M. Berman a enregistré toutes les œuvres pour piano solo de Prokofiev et Schnittke, des sonates complètes de Scriabine, des œuvres de Mozart, Weber, Schumann, Brahms, Franck, Chostakovitch, Debussy, Stravinsky, Berio, Cage et Joplin.

Le professeur Berman est l’auteur de deux livres, Notes from the Pianist’s Bench et Sonates pour piano de Prokofiev. Ces livres ont été traduits en plusieurs langues. Il a également été éditeur de la nouvelle édition critique des Sonates pour piano de Prokofiev.

“Boris Berman, 71 ans, se présente ici comme un interprète de Brahms de première classe. Il est frappant à quel point son jeu est serein et sage. Berman n’a plus rien à prouver, il laisse la musique parler d’elle-même.” Pizzicato

http://www.borisberman.com/